Vegan Red Wines

It’s a common mistake to assume all red wine to be vegan. After all, when you break it down, red wine is simply fermented grape juice and grapes are definitely vegan. However it is actually quite common for winemakers to use animal products during the production of red wines. Before filtering, red wines will be quite cloudy from the bits of grape left behind after pressing and fermentation. Some winemakers choose to ‘fine’ the red wine to remove these using proteins derived from animals, such as egg whites. Once added to a red wine, the fining agent sticks to the sediment and can then be easily removed. These red wines are all vegan, because they haven’t been processed using any animal products and instead use fining agents derived only from plant or mineral sources.

About Us

We sell wine that offers quality and value at every level, from the everyday to the extraordinary. Read more about us.

Awards & Press Our Latest Awards

Decanter and IWC Specialist Merchant of the Year 2019 for our USA range.

Decanter Retailer Awards | Best USA Specialist
International Wine Challenge 2019 | Specialist Merchant of the Year USA

... London's best collection of seriously smart wine available by the single bottle

Jancis Robinson MW